top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Werewolf by Night (2022)

Rating: 8.2

First off, I LOVE that Marvel Studios took such a big creative risk and made this project! I am so happy to see them experimenting with different things, and am so happy to say that horror has truly (finally) entered the MCU! Because this was horrific, gothic, brutal, spooky, atmospheric, gory and bloody! I don’t think we’ve ever seen this much gore in the MCU, I loved the action scenes because some stuff was brutal! But it all goes back to this more horrific but campy tone of the classic 1930s and 1940s horror/monster films, which really worked for me— right from that awesome new version of the Marvel logo! I have to praise composer-turned-director Michael Giacchino for some excellent creative choices here; the style, tone and atmosphere are all so perfectly on point. Giacchino really proved himself as skilled a director as he is a composer (the score for this is great too!) and I really want to see him direct more! He knew exactly what he wanted this project to be and delivered one of the most unique entries in the MCU to date! I also really appreciated how separate this story felt from the rest of the MCU - it’s very standalone and tells a complete story; I want more creative standalone experiments like this, even if they only come in the form of holiday specials! Heck… I think Marvel should focus on specials over shows for Disney+… because this was definitely one of the better things they have done on the platform! My only qualm with the special was the writing, it wasn’t the best and could’ve used some fixes… but somehow Giacchino took the material and made it sing! It was so good and I loved how much it infused horror into it! It was so cool, I loved the characters and really want to see more of them and this dark side of the MCU! Especially Man-Thing, I was so happy we finally got to see him on screen! I just need more like this right now, this was really something special! It’s the most interesting thing Marvel has done in awhile, I really enjoyed it and hope the fans give it a chance… it’s remarkable!

IMDb Rating: 7.8/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

Metacritic Score: n/a

Marvel Studios - Disney+

Directed by Michael Giacchino

Teleplay by Heather Quinn & Peter Cameron

Story by Heather Quinn

Cast: Gael García Bernal, Laura Donnelly, Harriet Sansom Harris

Runtime: 54min

Rating: PG

Action, Adventure, Comedy, Fantasy, Horror, Mystery, Thriller

On a dark and sombre night, a secret cabal of monster hunters emerge from the shadows and gather at the Bloodstone Temple following the death of their leader; the attendees are thrust into a mysterious and deadly competition for a powerful relic.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page