top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Top Gun: Maverick (2022)

Updated: Sep 5, 2022

Rating: 9.6



“Top Gun: Maverick” is the sequel to “Top Gun” that I always wanted, but until now, never had — it's truly perfect. I can’t believe they were able to pull this off; not only did they make a film that lives up to the original, but I would also argue that there are many elements that surpass the first film. I love the original movie from 1986, but this in my opinion is a much stronger film! It’s thrilling, intense, and surprisingly emotional, the film has a lot of heart. The opening scene alone, which parallels the original’s opening in such an awesome way, was pretty much a religious experience for me, and I’m sure it would be for any fans of the original. Right off the bat I had a huge smile on my face, and that smile continued throughout the entire movie! It’s exactly what I wanted it to be, and yet so much more. A truly epic, supersonic, exhilarating blockbuster!


One of the things I really loved here was the story! It was the perfect continuation of the first film, and I loved how it truly dealt with the emotional fallout of events from that film. It felt like this was truly bringing Maverick’s story to an end, especially in the guilt he has for the death of Goose. I love how Goose was used in this film, and how that internal conflict inside of Maverick led to such an interesting dynamic between himself and Goose’s son, Rooster, who is now one of Maverick’s students. Without saying too much, I loved how their relationship evolved throughout the film, how it both left them confronting their feelings about the loss of Goose and how this inevitably brought them together. I wasn’t as much into the relationship between Penny and Maverick, as this felt like it just sort of happened to check a box, but it was entertaining nonetheless. The film also deviated a lot more than I thought it would from the original story, I liked that it really showed us something new instead of just rehashing the original. Don’t get me wrong, it has some great nostalgic moments, but these are done sparingly and just enough to get a reaction out of the audience without detracting from the current story. In some cases, the use of a nostalgic element actually seemed to enhance emotional moments for the characters, and I loved that. I was also pretty excited to see there was an actual mission the story was building up to this time, and let me just say the 3rd act does not disappoint! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, and I loved how intense it was and how much it kept me on the edge of my seat, yet showed me everything I really wanted to see in this movie! (Also is it just me or was there a moment that felt like a Top Gun version of a Star Wars scene?)


And oh my god… the aerial sequences here are unbelievable! I’ve never seen anything quite like it, and I don’t think we ever will again. Not only is the sheer talent of the pilots of the jets on display here, but I’m amazed that the filmmakers were able to get the footage they did. Shots where the cameras are mounted to the plane, or even inside the cockpit are just jaw dropping and really enhance the intensity of scenes. This truly is a spectacular visual experience (it looks stunning in IMAX) and I’m so happy they committed to doing everything for real. Trust me, you can tell the actors are in the jets as you see their genuine reactions and the ways their faces react to the Gs. Tom Cruise somehow handles it like a pro, he’s truly a madman but I love his commitment to the theatrical experience. It’s like Tom Cruise just became Maverick in this movie, he looks like he’s having a blast in all the dogfights and aerial sequences. He also looks like he hasn’t aged a day, and fits right in with his younger co-stars in the beach football scene. I also loved the emotion he displayed in this, it’s what truly makes me think this is one of his career best performances! Miles Teller was also perfectly cast as Goose’s son, he really looks the part, but also played off of Tom Cruise so well (just like his on-screen dad) and really sold the emotions his character is feeling. And while on the topic of actors, Val Kilmer has one stunning scene as Iceman that truly was so perfect and heartfelt that I was nearly in tears, I loved that scene more than anything.


Tony Scott would be proud of this film. I thought Joseph Kosinski did a spectacular job taking over as director for this sequel, and really crafted such a great film. It’s a little more mature and emotional than the first, which I loved, but also way more intense and visceral. It’s such a unique cinematic experience, one that deserves the biggest screen with the loudest sound! I loved the visuals, especially in the jaw dropping aerial sequences, and the sound design packed a punch, on top of using some of the great music from the first one! “Danger Zone” is here, and it's as good as ever! This movie was insanely good, it's everything I wanted it to be and more! I adore the first film, but this managed to surpass it in every way. It’s wildly entertaining, exhilarating and heartfelt! I truly loved it and highly recommend seeing this, it’s a must see if only for the stunning cinematography and once in a lifetime visuals on display. It exceeded all my expectations, “Top Gun: Maverick” really is a blast; it took my breath away! It’s one of those rare flicks that reminds you how incredible a movie-going experience can be!


*If you don’t like the original (but how could you not, it’s amazing), this is much better.

**If you love the original… this is still much, much better!

IMDb Rating: 8.7/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

RT Audience Score: 99%

Metacritic Score: 78

CinemaScore: A+

Paramount

Directed by Joseph Kosinski

Screenplay by Ehren Kruger, Eric Warren Singer & Christopher McQuarrie

Story by Peter Craig & Justin Marks

Cast: Tom Cruise, Miles Teller, Jennifer Connelly, Val Kilmer, Jon Hamm, Glen Powell, Monica Barbaro, Ed Harris

Runtime: 2hr 11min

Rating: PG

Action, Drama

After more than thirty years of service as one of the Navy's top aviators, Pete Mitchell is where he belongs, pushing the envelope as a courageous test pilot and dodging the advancement in rank that would ground him.

Fun Fact: At the insistence of Tom Cruise, there are no green screen or CGI aerial shots in the film, and even the close up cockpit shots are taken during real in-flight sequences. This meant that much of the cast had to undergo extensive G-force training sessions, to withstand the physical demands of the G-force pressures during flights.


EDIT Sept 4/2022: NEW RATING (after multiple re-watches): 9.6


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page