top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Ticket to Paradise (2022)

Rating: 8.0


Let’s be real— I think we all knew exactly how this movie was going to go. But that’s the beauty of it. We’re signing up for a nice, light and most importantly fun rom-com that will undoubtedly have a happy ending. This is the type of movie we need every so often, especially when our lives are so full of stress and anxiety. What better way to relieve that then to see a rom-com starring two big stars?! It’s so rare we see movies in theatres like this anymore, most just go straight to streaming. This movie does feel like it should be from the 90s-early 2000s rom-com era, and I couldn’t be happier to see a movie like that coming out now! It’s so fun, light and reminds me how much I’ve missed seeing movies like this!


The movie is a charming bit of escapism. No, it’s not a best picture winner, but it’s exactly what you’d want from a rom-com and leaves you just feeling happy. It’s light and fun, and I really can’t fault it on anything. It’s great for what it is! Seeing Julia Roberts and George Clooney back on screen together was awesome, and their chemistry is electric. I loved their character’s banter; I found myself laughing through a lot of this movie! The film also makes use of some gorgeous scenery, Ol Parker seems to really be good at that after doing the same with “Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again”. There isn’t too much to the script he wrote, but it does exactly what it needs to, tells a fun story with some great jokes and even some sentimentality! It’s a comfort watch, and made me really happy as I’m sick of a lot of the styles that modern rom-coms go for. It’s a bit of a nostalgia watch for me— I even loved how they had the blooper reel during the credits and that it ended with a freeze frame! Just made me really happy, and I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would! If you like rom-coms or just need a light, comfort film to watch… I highly recommend this!

(Oh and I’m so happy this film is theatrical and not streaming!)

IMDb Rating: 6.3/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 55%

RT Audience Score: 88%

Metacritic Score: 49

CinemaScore: A-

Universal

Directed by Ol Parker

Written by Ol Parker & Daniel Pipski

Cast: George Clooney, Julia Roberts, Kaitlyn Deaver, Billie Lourd, Maxime Bouttier, Lucas Bravo

Runtime: 1hr 44min

Rating: PG

Comedy, Romance

A divorced couple teams up and travels to Bali to stop their daughter from making the same mistake they think they made 25 years ago.

Fun Fact: The fifth film for co-stars George Clooney and Julia Roberts after Ocean's Eleven (2001), Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002), Ocean's Twelve (2004), and Money Monster (2016).



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page