top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

The Harder They Fall (2021)

Rating: 6.8

The Harder They Fall is a modern revisionist western with a great cast and some very stylized direction. The movie is alright, ultimately it just wasn’t my thing. The concept and style seemed interesting to me but the film just felt off somehow. It feels like it’s just too much, the style is very overbearing. It also has no emotional weight and has some bonkers story choices. There are a few good sequences and some of the action scenes feel very Tarantino-esque. I did like the cinematography and how richly colourful everything was in the production design as well. The cast was also great, I really loved Lakeith Stanfield, Jonathan Majors and Idris Elba! But I just couldn’t get into the story and the feel of the film just wasn’t for me. I’m glad others are enjoying it, I wish I did, but I unfortunately didn’t like it.

IMDb Rating: 6.6/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 87%

Metacritic Score: 68

Netflix

Directed by Jeymes Samuel

Screenplay by Jeymes Samuel & Boaz Yakin

Screen Story by Jeymes Samuel

Cast: Jonathan Majors, Idris Elba, Zazie Beetz, Regina King, Delroy Linda, Lakeith Stanfield

Runtime: 2hr 19min

Rating: 14A

Action, Drama, Western

When an outlaw discovers his enemy is being released from prison, he reunites his gang to seek revenge.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page