top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Prey (2022)

Rating: 8.4

Watch on Disney+ (Canada) or Hulu (US)

Prey is definitely my favourite Predator film! Is it the best? I’d say so, but I think to be safe I’d put it right beside the original! And damn, do I ever wish I could have seen this in a theatre! It just looks gorgeous! And the movie itself is fucking awesome! It’s a back to basics return to form for the franchise, with some tremendous atmosphere! It brings some fear back to the Predator, and I love that! Dan Trachtenberg, best known for “10 Cloverfield Lane” directed this wonderfully, and I think this may be the most well crafted film in the franchise in regards to the atmosphere, handling of story and visuals. The visual aspect of this film is stunning, I love the natural settings and how beautifully they were captured with perfect lighting and some great colour grading! It is definitely the best looking “Predator” film! I also loved the unique premise and found it to feel quite fresh for a franchise that felt excessively stale to me, and I was so happy to see that the premise really paid off! The story was captivating and while simple, very enjoyable and managed to do quite a lot! The character, plot and thematic development is really well written while also managing to spike the audiences adrenaline! Amber Midthunder was fantastic as the lead, she NEEDS to get more work in Hollywood because she was great! This movie really is quite the spectacle for streaming, it deserved a theatrical release and has become one of my favourite streaming movies ever. It’s tremendous; short and sweet, but incredibly effective storytelling! The first Predator sequel that I’ve loved, hell… the first Predator movie I’ve loved!

IMDb Rating: 7.2/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 92%

Metacritic Score: 71

20th Century Studios

Directed by Dan Trachtenberg

Screenplay by Patrick Aison

Story by by Patrick Aison & Dan Trachtenberg

Cast: Amber Midthunder, Dakota Beavers, Michelle Thrush, Stormee Kipp, Julian Black Antelope, Dane DiLiegro

Runtime: 1hr 39min

Rating: 14A

Action, Adventure, Drama, Horror, Sci-Fi, Thriller

The origin story of the Predator in the world of the Comanche Nation 300 years ago. Naru, a "skilled" female warrior, fights to protect her tribe against one of the first highly-evolved Predators to land on Earth.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page