top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Everything Everywhere All At Once (2022)

Updated: Apr 13, 2022

Rating: 9.7

This is a movie you must experience for yourself to fully grasp exactly what it is. I absolutely loved it, and yet I find myself unable to write a coherent review… because the movie is absolutely crazy, as well as being cinematic perfection. It’s one of the greatest films I have ever seen, or rather, experienced! Instead of writing a full review, I feel this movie is best described in points, because I don’t want to say too much about anything, I just want this to convince anyone reading this to go out and see it as soon as they can (in theatres with an audience)! It’s the most original and creative piece of filmmaking I have witnessed in probably the last 5 years, I just can’t believe what the directorial duo Daniels was able to pull off here! So without further ado, here are my thoughts on “Everything Everywhere All At Once”:

  • The film is flawless and true cinematic perfection in my eyes!

  • An assault on the senses; the visuals and sound design are insane!

  • Extremely impressive from a technical standpoint.

    • Editing is a huge standout and was incredibly done, the edit alone took us on a ride! They used match cuts so creatively too!

    • Cinematography was stunning, I especially loved the creative use of lighting!

    • Sound design was absolutely crazy, it had so much going on and complimented the visuals perfectly!

  • Every genre of film in one!

  • I’ve never seen anything like it, it’s ambitious, crazy, bonkers, insane, creative, hilariously funny, heartfelt, clever, wild, awesome, the best, odd, wacky, touching, chaotic but in a well-written way, stylized, brilliant, and most of all, masterful!

  • None of this movie should work, and yet due to the Daniels’ excellent and clever direction, it somehow does (and yet I still don’t know how they were able to pull it off)

  • There is no way Multiverse of Madness will be half as crazy as this movie, this is the best multiverse film we will probably ever see

  • The writing so cleverly establishes the multiverse rules and keeps it flowing in a way that allows you to feel like you understand what’s going on despite how complex it gets. It perfectly guides you through the story without spoon-feeding it to you, making sure the chaotic multiverse makes sense.

  • Also loved the thematic exploration in the story, and that they didn’t let the novelty and entertainment value of the multiverse stuff take away from the story, it just complemented it instead. It's some genius writing, especially when heading into the second half of the film where the emotional/thematic core really starts to open up and shine!

  • Action is phenomenal and intense. It's some of the best I’ve seen in the last few years, it's so wild! It’s very stylized and impressive, the Daniels know how to direct action so well. They get great coverage that shows off the choreography and every hit, and perfect timing for cuts.

  • The film is so funny, has some witty dialogue, insane gags that I never saw coming, and some hilarious comedic payoffs — one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in a while, it had both me and the audience howling with laughter!

  • Michelle Yeoh’s performance is astonishing! She’s just awesome as the lead; she’s so badass in her action scenes, so funny, and yet still gives such an emotional, heartfelt performance

  • I also loved Ke Quan as her husband, he was so loveable and had some of the funniest moments. So great to see him acting again, have really missed him since his days in “Indiana Jones” and “The Goonies”.

  • Stephanie Hsu was phenomenal as the daughter, and a huge part of why the 2nd half of the film works as well as it does!

  • Jamie Lee Curtis had me laughing so hard, she was hilarious here, I’ve never seen her do anything like this!

This film does things you would never expect to see, and I loved it for that! I was enamoured by this film, it’s truly a glorious piece of filmmaking. It’s one of the coolest films of the last decade and I cannot stop thinking about it. I really want to see it again too, it’s so much to take in on first viewing! Daniels truly knocked it out of the park on all levels; as a comedy, action film, familial drama, sci-fi film, something that’s thought provoking and emotionally potent, technically impressive and so imaginative. It’s just a masterpiece; cinematic perfection. It left me with a feeling of pure joy, I really hope everyone gets a chance to experience this film. You have to see it in a theatre with an audience… it’s an insane experience! I just loved it, highly recommend! The film’s title really says it all; it’s “Everything Everywhere All At Once”!

IMDb Rating: 9.0/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

RT Audience Score: 94%

Metacritic Score: 82

CinemaScore:

A24

Written & Directed by Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert

Cast: Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, Stephanie Hsu, Jenny Slate, Harry Shum Jr., James Hong, Jamie Lee Curtis

Runtime: 2hr 19min

Rating: 14A

Action, Adventure, Comedy, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

An aging Chinese immigrant is swept up in an insane adventure, where she alone can save the world by exploring other universes connecting with the lives she could have led.

Fun Fact: To keep plot details under wraps before the trailer was released, the official IMDb synopsis read "a woman tries to do her taxes".


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page