top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Dear Evan Hansen (2021)



Rating: 8.3


Dear Review Readers,

Having seen and loved the play, I was worried when I saw the reviews for this movie were pretty bad. But luckily enough, I’m happy to report that the movie is really moving and powerful, I really enjoyed it! It definitely had some of the problems the play had, and those were more noticeable here, but honestly the way the story is told it’s easy to look past them. Especially because of the amazing, emotionally resonant songs, each containing their own powerful messages and themes. From “You Will Be Found” to “If I Could Tell Her” or even “Words Fail” they were all translated perfectly to the screen and performed so beautifully. I even loved the way they handled “Sincerely, Me” (my personal favourite). Stephen Chbosky really translated the dynamic sequences from the stage to the screen in brilliant ways, but some of it doesn’t feel as interesting or visually appealing as it does in the play. All the musical sequences were still stunning though, however I was pretty sad to see they cut some great (and important) songs from the play. I really missed “Anybody have a Map?” and “Good for You”, and thought not having them here detracted from the overall film. (“Anybody” sets up the family dynamics and gives a bit more exposition before jumping into “Waving through a Window”, and “Good for You” shows the pain of Evan’s mom discovering the new family Evan found). The new songs were excellent too, especially “A Little Closer” which delivered a new (and better) ending to both Evan and Connor’s story. I thought this ending definitely was better than the one in the play, it redeems Evan a little more in my mind. Speaking of which.. Evan is is somewhat unlikeable for a lot of the film (much like the play), making really poor decisions, but I honestly still feel emotionally connected to him based on the circumstances he was put in, like I can understand why he did what he did despite knowing it was the wrong choice. And Ben Platt really helps sell it! Truly, I didn’t notice his age at all, especially once he started to sing. His voice is perfect and I can’t imagine anyone else playing this character, it HAS to be him. He did seem to still perform like he is on stage instead of in front of a camera, but I still think he did a great job portraying the anxiety and social awkwardness. The film itself really highlights issues of mental health struggles, anxiety and dealing with grief so well and provides messages of hope through the powerful lyrics. It truly shows the difficulties of navigating life in general and I think it’s an important note that the movie points out. I also loved the rest of the cast, from Kaitlyn Dever to Amy Adams and even Colton Ryan! Now, the movie isn’t perfect and definitely has its problems but I think if you liked the play and the songs, it’s a no brainer, you should definitely see it. It had me crying and I really was stunned by the incredibly impactful and emotional story, I was completely drawn in. Don’t listen to the critics on this one folks, it may not be perfect but it’s surely a wonderful film and a great translation from the play. (But can we get an extended edition with the missing songs inserted into the movie?)

Sincerely, Me


P.S. If it really comes down to it, the play is definitely better, but I’d have to say the 2nd half of the movie really gives it a run for it’s money.

IMDb Rating: 5.9/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 33%

RT Audience Score: 93%

Metacritic Score: 39

Universal

Directed by Stephen Chbosky

Screenplay by Steven Levenson

Based on the stage play with music and lyrics by Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, book by Steven Levenson

Cast: Ben Platt, Kaitlyn Dever, Julianne Moore, Amy Adams, Colton Ryan, Amandla Stenberg, Danny Pino, Nik Dodani

Runtime: 2hr 17min

Rating: PG

Drama, Musical

Evan Hansen is an anxious, isolated high-school student who's aching for understanding and belonging amid the chaos and cruelty of the social media age. He soon embarks on a journey of self-discovery when a letter he wrote for a writing exercise falls into the hands of a grieving couple whose son took his own life.

Fun Fact: Ben Platt and Colton Ryan are the only two members of the original Broadway cast (Ryan being an understudy in that production) to return for Stephen Chbosky's film.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page