top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

DC League of Super-Pets (2022)

Rating: 6.0


Well this wasn’t actually terrible! It’s not great, but mildly entertaining and probably even moreso if you are or have kids! However I can’t help but feel like this had the quality of a streaming film. I expect a little better from the Rock and Kevin Hart. It started out pretty rough, but honestly after a bit had some pretty fun moments! Sure, I could tell you what the whole story would be after 10 minutes, and it was a little dumb at times… but it’s fun. I even found some of the jokes pretty clever (especially from Keanu Reeves’ Batman). The voice cast is pretty great, but while Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart are always great together, I found Kate McKinnon to be my favourite! She kills me in anything she does and was especially funny here. I wasn’t a fan of the animation though, it looked quite cheap, and the motion of the character’s movement just looked off. It just felt a little cartoony for a big budget animated film. I also hate when movies use stock sounds of dog barking. It just makes it sound cheap too. The soundtrack was pretty cool though, and I loved the use of the classic Superman and Batman themes. So while this was a little bit of fun, and better than I was expecting, it’s still not great. But, I’m not the intended audience. It’s made for kids, so I don’t wanna bash it too much. After all, the kids in my theatre seemed to love it! Also have to say, didn’t know I needed a scene of the Rock crying while listening to Taylor Swift!

IMDb Rating: 7.9/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 72%

RT Audience Score: 88%

Metacritic Score: 56

CinemaScore: A-

Warner Bros

Directed by Jared Stern

Written by Jared Stern & John Whittington

Cast: Dwayne Johnson, Kevin Hart, Kate McKinnon, John Krasinski, Vanessa Bayer, Diego Luna, Keanu Reeves, Natasha Lyonne, Ben Schwartz

Runtime: 1hr 45min

Rating: PG

Action, Adventure, Comedy

Krypto the Super-Dog and Superman are inseparable best friends, sharing the same superpowers and fighting crime side by side in Metropolis. However, Krypto must master his own powers for a rescue mission when Superman is kidnapped.

Fun Fact: Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart's fifth film collaboration together, after Central Intelligence (2016), Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle (2017), Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw (2019) (where Hart appeared in a cameo role), and Jumanji: The Next Level (2019). This is also their first animated PG rated movie together unlike their previous films which were live action and were rated PG-13.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page