top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

Barbarian (2022)

Updated: Sep 11, 2022

Rating: 8.2


“What the fuck” was the most common thought I had while watching “Barbarian”. This movie is absolutely bonkers, and was such a crazy surprise. I’ve never seen anything exactly like it, and the experience of watching it was incredible. I knew absolutely nothing going in aside from what the trailer showed (and it doesn’t tell much), which made for a viewing experience rich with shock value. This film was extremely unpredictable, and it really kept the audience on its toes, throwing so many surprising elements at them throughout the film (even cutting away from the action in shocking ways at times). It just felt so brilliantly made, and reminded me of the tone that Sam Raimi would go for in his films, with a more modern horror/gruesome flare.


It had this slightly comedic tone to it, with some surprisingly hilarious moments, while also featuring some really twisted and sadistic elements. The fact I could be laughing my ass off while also clutching to the edge of my seat in fear is impeccable. This movie just felt like the next great horror film, really feeling like “Evil Dead”, “Friday the 13th” or any Wes Craven film! I’m surprised I’m saying this but it was fun! I was covering my eyes nearly the whole film, but I just thought all the horror was really effective and the surprises were so much fun to uncover. That’s why I don’t want to get into too much detail… it’s best to see this movie knowing nothing. So here’s my no spoilers sales pitch, I really do recommend this to any horror/genre film fan! It’s such an insane ride with a great cast, smart writing and impeccable direction, a clever soundtrack that I loved, and some really horrific makeup that all came together to create a truly scary (and darkly funny) film. I really liked it… but don’t expect to ever see me in an Airbnb! It’s a movie that is twisted as fuck, it completely shocked and unsettled me, and yet it impressed me by being a cut above most horror movies these days! And… well… it’s an absolutely batshit crazy ride!


The less you know… the better. Go see it!

IMDb Rating: 7.6/10

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 92%

RT Audience Score: 75%

Metacritic Score: 80

CinemaScore: C+

Searchlight Pictures

Written & Directed by Zach Cregger

Cast: Georgina Campbell, Bill Skarsgård, Justin Long, Matthew Patrick Davis, Richard Brake

Runtime: 1hr 42min

Rating: 14A

Horror, Thriller

In town for a job interview, a young woman arrives at her Airbnb late at night only to find that her rental has been mistakenly double-booked and a strange man is already staying there. Against her better judgement, she decides to stay the night anyway, but soon discovers that there is much more to be afraid of in the house than the other house guest.

Fun Fact: The script started out as a scene between a man and a woman with the man unknowingly getting in as many red flags as possible.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page