top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture321 Film

A Quiet Place: Day One (2024)

★★★★1/2


A Quiet Place: Day One is so much better than it has any right to be! My god, it’s fantastic! It’s an intimate, tense story about human connection and how tragedies can pull even strangers together with two absolutely captivating performances from Nyong'o and Quinn, shepherded perfectly by Michael Sarnoski. It’s a surprisingly soulful monster movie that lives up to the first two Quiet Place films by doing something completely different. I was kind of floored by Day One, which uses the Quiet Place sandbox to tell a story of falling in love with a cat and craving a slice of pizza while you try not to scream as your life crumbles around you. It’s scary and exciting for sure, with amazingly intense sound design, but also super emotional and impactful in ways I was not expecting. It’s a beautiful horror film — a reflective, almost meditative drama that occasionally reminds you it’s also a monster movie. It genuinely feels like Sarnoski is channeling Linklater’s Before trilogy, telling the story of two people bonding as they wander a city, and it works so well because Sarnoski prioritizes the human element. Lupita Nyong’o and Joseph Quinn complement each other so well with their performances. Their chemistry takes the film to a whole new level. And the cat was fantastic! Michael Sarnoski delivers a suspenseful and heartfelt story packed with tense sequences, poignant messages, and a lovable pair of protagonists. It's an emotionally draining/chilling experience about two broken souls finding hope in each other. Perfectly paced and includes an immaculate sound design. There’s something so invigorating about this one — it’s a tense, surprisingly tender thriller that I just fell in love with. I didn’t expect to, but I even shed a tear. A Quiet Place: Day One is an excellent, anxiety-inducing standalone prequel that’ll leave your heart racing. I held my breath from start to finish and ended up loving this movie so much!


You thought the review was over… but I have a few more thoughts on what made me love this movie:

Can’t believe what Michael Sarnoski got away with in A Quiet Place: Day One, smuggling a disarmingly intimate meditation on death, morality, and hope into the chassis of a franchise prequel. It’s a better drama than a disaster-thriller, but this was really nice. Sarnoski subverts what you expect a spin-off prequel to be: his set pieces favor emotive close-ups instead of bombastic action. There’s little interest in “lore.” The plot is of a personal kind, affecting little beyond the character’s lives. We should have more movies like this! A Quiet Place: Day One won’t show up on best-of lists, but the deluge of franchise content is easier to bear when filmmakers are allowed to be shamelessly themselves when they make these things, and this is very much a movie made by the guy who did PIG. That’s a huge success in my opinion.

 
Film Info:
Paramount Pictures
Directed by Michael Sarnoski
Screenplay by Michael Sarnoski
Story by Michael Sarnoski & John Krasinski
Cast: Lupita Nyong’o, Joseph Quinn, Alex Wolff, Djimon Hounsou
Runtime: 1hr 40min
Rating: 14A
Horror, Sci-Fi, Thriller
IMDb Rating: 6.8/10
Rotten Tomatoes Score: 84%
RT Audience Score: 73%
RT Critic Average: 7.1/10
RT Audience Average: 3.9/5
Metacritic Score: 68
CinemaScore: B+
Letterboxd: 3.4/5
Fun Fact: Lupita Nyong'o was afraid of cats, so she had to undergo cat therapy to play Samira. She explained, "I was terrified of cats. I couldn't be in a room with a cat. I was suspicious of them. I was pretty sure they were out to get me. But I wanted to play Sam so badly, and she has this cat. So I had to face my fear. They hired someone to bring some cats to me in Los Angeles, and over a number of days, I observed the cats and asked lots of questions and when I felt brave enough, I touched one and then it was two, and before you know it I was petting one until I could hold a cat without freaking out."
 
Trailer:



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page